A fool for pretty tools

14 Jan

Most girls go grazy over make up or hand bags or shoes. I go crazy over cooking gadgets, kitchen utensils and cookware. C-R-A-Z-Y. I surf for them and I shop for them where ever I go … even when i am on holiday.

I am in Pasadena, Calif and it’s winter. But it’s kinda sunny and just a little chilly so after checking into my hotel, I dumped my bags and headed out for a nice walkabout.

Something must be said for having good intentions. My walk about came to an abrupt halt after barely a  km when I chanced upon a Crate @ Barrel store. My heart skipped a beat. And then it went ballistic. You see, before leaving home, I had already surfed the C&B website to check out the goods  and especially to see what was on sale. There were a few things I bookmarked, hence my excitement.

$1.95 ramekins? $2 bowls; $.95 jars? Are you kidding me? Forget about the Hermes bag: I’d rather use the money to furnish my kitchen with some kick ass gadgets.

After 1.5 hours of looking through the store meticulously, I decided to buy a just a few things, first. I have every intention of going back but I want to check out some flea markets where I hope I will find more unique stuff. I also want to save some space for some ingredients I want to bring back — like chipotle; you know ingredients you read about in books but aren’t available at home and you’re just dying to know what its like?

So, here’s to a week of productivity!

2 Responses to “A fool for pretty tools”

  1. Peter Howie February 22, 2010 at 00:30 #

    I wasnt going to comment as it was written a while ago, I would like to thank you for your nice work on your website. I will keep checking your blog for new entries as we are also working on our blog and I want to share some of your posts with our readers if its ok for you. Peter

    • nodessertforme February 22, 2010 at 09:21 #

      Thanks for your kind words and sure you may link my posts in your blog.

Leave a Reply

